Washington State House Republicans select Reps. Matt Shea and Drew Stokesbary for new leadership positions

Leadership changes made following Shelly Short’s appointment to the state Senate

Washington State House Republicans selected Rep. Matt Shea, R-Spokane Valley, to be their Caucus Chair in a meeting last night. Shea replaces Shelly Short, who was appointed to the state Senate for the 7th Legislative District.

The Caucus Chair presides over caucus meetings and leads discussions on bills, amendments and other legislative matters.

“Matt Shea has been an important part of our Leadership team for the last six years. I appreciate him stepping up to this new and elevated role,” said House Republican Leader Dan Kristiansen. “I’ve held this position before and am confident Matt will do a great job leading our caucus meetings and guiding us through important policy discussions.”

“I am honored my colleagues have entrusted me to help lead our efforts in bringing forth common-sense solutions to the citizens of Washington state,” said Shea. “There is much to be done as we aim toward finishing the people’s work in the allotted 105-day session.”

Shea’s selection as Caucus Chair opened up his previous position as one of two Assistant Floor Leaders. Rep. Drew Stokesbary, R-Auburn, was selected to replace Shea.

“We have a very talented caucus. I appreciate it when a member wants to be a part of our Leadership team. It takes courage and commitment,” said Kristiansen. “Drew Stokesbary is a natural fit for the Assistant Floor Leader position. He’s an excellent communicator and will be an asset for our caucus as we navigate policy debates this year.”

“I am grateful to have earned the trust and confidence of my House Republican colleagues,” said Stokesbary. “I look forward to working with the rest of the leadership team to advance Republican solutions for our schools, communities, and economy.”

With his selection, Stokesbary, 32, becomes the youngest member of Leadership in any of the four caucuses. No other changes were made to the Washington State House Republicans’ leadership team, which was determined prior to the 2017 legislative session. The leadership team is a follows:

Rep. Dan Kristiansen, 39th Legislative District (Snohomish) | Leader
Rep. Joel Kretz, 7th Legislative District (Wauconda) | Deputy Leader
Rep. Matt Shea, 4th Legislative District (Spokane Valley) | Caucus Chair
Rep. Joe Schmick, 9th Legislative District (Colfax) | Caucus Vice Chair
Rep. J.T. Wilcox, 2nd Legislative District (Yelm) | Floor Leader
Rep. Matt Manweller, 13th Legislative District (Ellensburg) | Assistant Floor Leader
Rep. Drew Stokesbary, 31st Legislative District (Auburn) | Assistant Floor Leader
Rep. Dave Hayes, 10th Legislative District (Camano Island) | Whip
Rep. Dan Griffey, 35th Legislative District (Allyn) | Assistant Whip
Rep. Bill Jenkin, 16th Legislative District (Prosser) | Assistant Whip
Rep. Vicki Kraft, 17th Legislative District (Vancouver) | Assistant Whip

The Washington State House Republicans have 48 members. For more information, visit:


Washington State House Republican Communications